Sunday October 20, 2019
ANDERS ROWE was crowned the 2019 National League Riders' Champion at Scunthorpe on Sunday, in a rain-affected meeting, keeping his word to his father in doing so.

"I told my Dad three days before the meeting that I really believed I could win it and so I was more than a little pumped to have done so. Winning the title means a lot to me. There were some top riders in the field so to be the champion is a great feeling."

Only 14 heats were possible due to the worsening weather with heat 15 marred by a crash between Jack Smith and Jordan Palin, and the result was declared based on the scores after 12 heats, so that riders had an equal number of rides.

At that juncture Rowe had recorded three straight race wins with his two closest rivals Drew Kemp (his Kent team-mate) and Max Clegg (Cradley) having dropped a point each. Ironically, the first heat of the fourth batch of rides saw Clegg and Rowe go head to head and it was the Cradley rider that prevailed, despite a battling effort from Rowe to try and secure the victory.

But with the meeting abandonment coming just a couple of starts later that heat was discounted and Rowe declared the title winner.

Anders has a further milestone ahead of him on Wednesday night (October 23rd) having been called-up for the Team GB v Denmark Global Challenge at King's Lynn.

Looking ahead to the 2020 season Rowe admits "I would love to be back at Somerset for a second season. I learnt a lot there this season and I was pretty happy with the progress I made there. Of course though, I know it's all about the numbers game but hopefully I will have the chance to be a Rebel again next season."

Final Scores:
9pts Anders Rowe; 8pts Drew Kemp, Max Clegg;
7pts Ellis Perks; Leon Flint
6pts Ryan Kinsley; Kyle Bickley; Ben Morley
3pts Jordan Palin; Jason Edwards; Jack Smith; Tom Spencer (Res)
2pts Connor Coles; Joe Thompson
1pt Danno Verge
0pts Joe Lawlor; Tom Young, Sam Woods (Res)

Share This:   Facebook Twitter