Tuesday June 05, 2018
Led by Rebels' number one Jason Doyle, Team Australia have booked their place in the 2-day final of the inaugural Speedway of Nations to be held at Wroclaw, Poland on Friday and Saturday.

At the National Speedway Stadium, Manchester - the home of Belle Vue Aces - the Aussies had to take the longer route to Poland, failing to claim one of the top two spots that provided automatic qualification to the finals despite pulling off a massive 5-1 over Speedway GB in heat 17. But a shock shared heat against the Fins to complete their six-ride programme proved costly and the Aussies 21 points were only enough to send them to heat 23 where they awaited the winners of Czech Republic (20) and France (14) to determine the final nation to complete Friday's line-up which already boasted hosts Poland, round 1 winners Russia, Germany, Denmark, Sweden and GB.
France had looked set to become Australia's race-off opponents as they were holding the better positions of second and third before Dimitri Berge suffered a retirement that handed the result to the Czechs. It was their leading light, Vaclav Milik who took the final race win of the night but sensible team riding by Doyle to settle in alongside partner Max Fricke was enough to give the Aussies the bonus point and that all important trip to Poland.

The staging of the Speedway of Nations means no team meeting for the 'Cases' Rebels this week but the Rebels will be back in action on Wednesday June 13th when they return to the Oak Tree Arena for a SGB Premiership league meeting against leaders Wolverhampton. Prior to that Rebels' Richard Lawson will be going for individual glory in the British Final on Monday (11th).

1 Sweden 26 (Fredrik Lindgren 15, Antonio Lindback 11).
2 Great Britain 23 (Tai Woffinden 14, Robert Lambert 8, Craig Cook 1).
3 Australia 21 (Jason Doyle 14, Max Fricke 7) - Qualified after run-off.
4 Czech Republic 20 (Vaclav Milik 13, Josef Franc 7).
5 France 14 (David Bellego 10, Dimitri Berge 4).
6 Finland 14 (Timo Lahti 7, Tero Aarnio 7).
7 Italy 8 (Nicolas Covatti 6, Paco Castagna 2).
(Top 3 all qualify for Final at Wroclaw, Poland - 1st leg: Friday June 8, 2nd leg: Saturday June 9)

Share This:   Facebook Twitter