Friday May 04, 2018
BUZZING after their impressive 14-point Knock Out Cup quarter-final first leg clash against Poole, the world champion-led Somerset Rebels travel to Rye House on Bank Holiday Monday for a league clash in buoyant mood.

Hosts Rye House have recently announced a team declaration change with Nikolaj Busk-Jakobsen signed on a temporary arrangement to cover for broken finger victim Stuart Robson.

The Dane is no stranger to the club having started his British career at the Hertfordshire in 2015 and having already made three guest appearances for them this season scoring 22 points from 18 rides.

His addition to the Rockets squad however does deny them the opportunity to have Edward Kennett at reserve.

The former two-times British U21 champion, who recently suffered a knee injury in a grasstrack meeting, was due a stint in the lower echelons with his May average of 5.75, but Busk-Jakobsen joins on a lower figure of 5.00.

Higher up, Rye can benefit from the immense experience of Scott Nicholls and Chris Harris as well as former world number two Krzysztof Kasprzak a fact not lost on Rebels' team manager Garry May.

The Somerset boss said: "They have a fairly potent top three but equally so have we and this is looking quite an even match on the face of it.
“If I look at the scores recorded by our lads when they visited Hoddesdon last season I don't see too many last places, just six from a collective 48 rides so hopefully we can ride to that sort of form."

The Rockets have completed only one home meeting this term, beating Wolverhampton 48-42 which accounts for the all their league points this season as they have been unsuccessful from their three on-the-road matches so far.

While the home side have a small restructure the Rebels remain unchanged from the side that beat Poole on Wednesday

Teams from
Rye House: Chris Harris, Krzysztof Kasprzak, Edward Kennett, Scott Nicholls (Capt), Aaron Summers, Max Clegg, Nikolai Busk-Jakobsen - Team manager: Peter Schroek
Somerset: Jason Doyle (Capt), Jake Allen, Charles Wright, Jack Holder, Richard Lawson, Jonas Jeppesen, Bradley Wilson-Dean - Team manager: Garry May

Share This:   Facebook Twitter